What is the Connecticut Employment Law?
Like all states, Connecticut has its own series of laws that employers must follow. These laws are in place to protect employees like you, ensuring you are fairly compensated, obligating your employer to respect your rights under the law.
If an employer refuses to pay you what you are owed or doesn’t follow minimum wage laws, you may be entitled to legal remedy. While it is impossible to sum up the entirety of Connecticut employment law in just a few sentences, there are some key facts you should know before pursuing a claim against your employer.
What is the Minimum Wage in Connecticut?
While the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) declares a federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour ($2.13 per hour for tipped employees), Connecticut’s minimum wage is slightly higher.
Employers in Connecticut are required to pay a minimum wage of $8.25 per hour, or the federal minimum wage plus 0.5% per hour – whichever is higher at the time. In 2015, the Connecticut minimum wage increase to $9 per hour.
The minimum hourly wage for tipped employees can vary in Connecticut, depending on your occupation. However, it must always add up to the full minimum wage or higher for each hour worked. For instance, if you are a restaurant worker and your hourly wage after tips totals an average less than $8.25 per hour, your employer is responsible for paying you the difference.
Hotel and restaurant workers are entitled to a minimum hourly wage of $5.69. The minimum wage for bartenders in Connecticut is $7.34 per hour. All other tipped employees are required to be paid a minimum wage of $0.35 less than Connecticut’s normal minimum wage (or $7.95 per hour).
Do Connecticut Employees get Overtime Pay?
Most Connecticut employees are to be paid for overtime if they work more than 40 hours in a week.
Additionally, restaurant and hotel restaurant employees are required to be paid overtime on their seventh consecutive work day. However, not every job type in Connecticut is eligible to receive overtime pay. If you are unsure of whether your position is eligible for overtime pay in Connecticut, reach out to the Connecticut Department of Labor for confirmation.
Are Connecticut Employees Paid for Rest and Lunch Breaks?
In Connecticut, employees are entitled to rest and/or lunch breaks. According to Connecticut employment law, the duration of this break is 30 minutes, unpaid. The break must begin after the first two hours of work and before the last two hours of work for anyone completing a shift of 7.5 consecutive hours or longer.
Note that, if you are a Connecticut employee who takes at least 30 minutes of paid breaks throughout your day, you are not entitled to an additional unpaid meal break.
What to do if Your Connecticut Employment Rights are Violated?
If you were unable to reach a solution by communicating your issue to your employer, your human resources department, or your management, it may be time to speak with an attorney.
At no cost to you, our legal team will evaluate your situation and determine whether your rights have been violated. We have a deep knowledge and understanding of the Connecticut employment law, as well as the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). We will use this knowledge to provide you with fair, ethical representation and qualified legal counsel regarding your employment law claim.
Email us for your free case review from a Connecticut lawyer, or call 1-800-NOT-FAIR (1-800-668-3247).